The Limpopo Music Awards (LIMA), brought to the people by Mahlasedi Media and Communications, celebrated its first success this past weekend. The sterling event that took place on Saturday, 11 November at Meropa Casino, hosted by presenters, Lethabo ‘LeJoy’ Mathatho and Skhumbuzo Mbatha; left guests in awe with close to 100 talented artists from and around the Limpopo Province nominated in 24 categories, and an exciting line-up of performances.

It was glitz and glamour at the red carpet with Mantikana Maraka and Gabriel ‘Gab Mapiano’ Mogashoa ushering in over 500 guests that attended this prestigious event. Amongst the guests was Honorable MEC for Department of Sports, Arts and Culture, Hon. Onicca Moloi, who humbly expressed her pride in the remarkable execution of the LIMAs; “This is it! Tonight I was once again reminded that our Province is a great Province”, said Moloi. Dr. Thomas Chauke was awarded with the ‘2017 Lifetime Achievers Award.

Categories and winners:

  1. Best Newcomer – Blazey Fresh
  2. Best Dance single – Rabs Vhafhuwi
  3. Best African Pop – Ntsikwane
  4. Best Afrikaans artist – Christella Smith
  5. Best Duo/Group/Collaboration – CK and Janisto
  6. Best Female artist – Maduvha
  7. Best Male artist – Benny Mahenganye
  8. Best Female DJ – Hellen Seabi
  9. Best Male DJ – Ceephonic
  10. Best Traditional Gospel album – Winnie Mashaba
  11. Best Contemporary Gospel album – Dr Tumi
  12. Best Jazz album – Candy
  13. Best Kwaito artist – Sido and Manana
  14. Best Live DVD – Pastor Lungi Ndala
  15. Best Music video – Darque
  16. Best Producer – Chymamusique
  17. Best Rap single – Tswyza
  18. Best RnB, Soul, Raggae single – Calandaray
  19. Best Khilobedu single – King Monada
  20. Best Sepedi/Manyalo album – Pleasure
  21. Best TshiVenda hit – Makhadzi
  22. Best Xitsonga hit – Benny Mahenganye
  23. Best Styled artist – Mahlatze Vokal
  24. Lifetime Achievement Award – Dr Thomas Chauke
  25. Song of the year – CK and Janisto   

Performing artists (in this order):

  1. Tswyza and Blazey Fresh
  2. Calandaray, Prty Xtacy and Mopedi
  3. DJ Sweey Candy, Sido and Manana
  4. Malatji and Muzo Brothers
  5. Rivoningo, Winnie Mashaba and Pastor Lungi Ndala
  6. Benny Mahenganye, CK and Janisto


  1. MMP Security (CEO, Tau Malebane, presented the ‘Song of the year’ award)
  2. TMM Events
  3. Village Lifestyle
  4. Mamonkwe Transport and Petroleum (CEO, Robby Mogashoa presented the ‘Best traditional Gospel album)
  5. Park Inn Radison Hotel
  6. Ramusi Attorneys (CEO, Lot Ramusi, presented the ‘Best rap single’ award)
  7. Culprit Entertainment
  8. Meropa Casino
  9. Limpopo Arts and Culture Council  

“Thank you to all our sponsors, artists and guests for being here and supporting the LIMA vision – the efforts of unison will surely take us far in this industry. The LIMA team is hopeful and excited to have you reach out to partner with us on this project”, said Maswanganyi.

The event ended with an explosive after-party held at Jembe Tarvern by local DJs and the music group, Impulze.